​Travails Of Menial Workers

Come and work“, they said.

It will be fun“, they said.

I will pay you well“, they said.

“I will be nice”, they pledged.

.

Until they ​started treating us like beasts of no nation,

Like we don’t belong to any generation;

Kicking us around like empty tins,

But we know we will become salient entities;

Like abandoned cans they kicked us around,

To make our sorrows know no bound.

.

‘Cause we are a fraction of the populace,

They keep adding woods of agony to our ‘sorrow-furnace’,

And they feel it’s no problem being ‘our’ menace;

This same people talk against child abuse,

Same thing of which they can be accused.


They talked against slavery in the early nineties,

Yet they treat their helpers like shabby panties,

Even when they go to enjoy at exotic parties,

They bring home bones to grace our teeth,

Making us celebrate it like its a feat.

.

As they toss Me around like the pendulum,

I keep looking cos I can’t throw a tantrum;

It’s not only them, even the people around,

‘Carry this, carry that’ they talk aloud,

But it’s not my fault, all these things have to be allowed,

I will use them as take off to lift my feet off the ground.

.

When I thought things were getting better it was a dream,

Playing a better life to me like a film;

I enjoyed it as though I was at the cinema,

But oh! See me now;

I thought I was ruling in my paradise,

Where I could get things done at the roll of the dice,

Only to wake up in the midst of flies;

Oh! it’s past six he’ll call me in no time,

Cos my naughty boss can’t even knot his own tie.

.

That doesn’t stop him from treating me like I’m not from this human race,

He’ll still set my fine attires ablaze,

Even in my presence and all I can do is gaze.

.

Oh! I have to hold this rage,

Even as I see my life in black and white pages,

Filled with me in different cages,

All through these ages.

.
I know I don’t belong here and all these will be for a while,

My life is a picture puzzle, this is just one of the tiles;

It will all get better with time and the big picture will be adorable,

So I will just stay calm even when all is intolerable.

.

Like a funnel, lots of things will pass through me only little will I withhold,

Of course I know I have to pass through fire to become pure gold,

All these which I withold will be lessons,

So for now I see all as disguised blessings.

.

This is an open letter to the world,

Containing more than one or two words,

Saying just treat us as your own wards,

And I hope it covers the earth like water about two-third.

.

I stand as a populist,

Advocating for people like me;

The voice of a common man,

Is really a common voice;

I have spoken for us,

I have spoken for myself.
#SayNoToAbuseOfMenialWorkers


11 thoughts on “​Travails Of Menial Workers

  1. You did justice to your poem, I’m interested in reading more of your poems. Also I will like to score some of your lines if you don’t mind. That’s a private discussion.

    Like

Leave a comment